fmhsloudspeaker

Parents

In Editorials, Uncategorized on January 6, 2012 at 7:41 pm

By: Trevor Ottley

Your parents are always there for you. They can be your best friends, if you let them. Photo courtesy of Drew Marshall

                          Parents have a tendency to come off as annoying, strict, and mean. I know, because both my sister and I have experienced all of these symptoms from our parents at one point or another. Even though they may seem like they don’t care and they’re doing this just to get on your nerves, it’s not that at all. Surprisingly, they have a method to their madness. It’s called caring. Your parents care about you, no matter how much you might think they don’t.

                        All kids have experienced the most depressing, mortifying word that comes out of a parent’s mouth. This word is “no.” If you ask them to go to a concert and the bands that are playing are the Death Horses and Sadistic Killers, you shouldn’t be surprised when they say no. They say no because they don’t want you to get into trouble or to get hurt. Parents are smart when it comes to these kinds of things. I have been through this many times throughout my life already, and every time I have learned why they didn’t let me go. It might make sense in your head to go sneak behind the airport and watch the airplanes take off with your significant other, but your parents can see past your ridiculous thoughts and tell you what is actually the smarter and safer move. Parents aren’t dumb. Trust me. They know what is best for you, and they aren’t afraid to tell you what to do. You don’t have control over them; they have control over you.

            There are times when you need your parents most, like when your significant other breaks up with you, or when you’re sick and have nobody to take care of you. Your parents are always there for you. They can be your best friends, if you let them. They were teenagers once, and they understand everything you are going through. They always know exactly what to tell you to make you feel better. They care about you, really. Parents hate seeing you sad or in pain. For example, this past weekend, I was in the hospital for six hours due to intense stomach and back pains, and my parents were there with me every single second. I wouldn’t have wanted it to be any other way. I could see how worried they were, and it made me realize that they care about me more than anything. My sister has gone through very similar situations, and they were with her just as much as they were with me.

            Parents are awesome, if you think about it. They are always there for you when you need them, they know how and what to do to make you feel better, and they love you more than anybody could ever love anything. Just give your parents a chance and you will realize how amazing they really are.

Leave a Reply

