fmhsloudspeaker

SENIO12S

In Editorials on December 16, 2011 at 7:46 pm

By: Courtney Harrington

One thing is for sure, now is not the time for seniors to be slacking off. All throughout high school, all I was told was that senior year is the year to do nothing. That should never be the case. Photo courtesy of Kristen Hegel

                With the school year reaching the half way point, it is starting to feel like crunch time for the senior class. Many college application deadlines have already come and gone, and now all the upperclassmen can do is wait for that crucial letter.

           In the meantime, some choose to spend their time searching low and high for any and every scholarship available, while others choose to spend their last months in Fort Mill like the child they wish they could be forever. Seniors, how are you going to spend the next six months before it is time to leave your cozy small town?

                It is typical for seniors to feel as if they are under loads of pressure around this time of the school year. I, for one, have had multiple people question me about where I’m going to college and what I want to major in. Honestly, I typically don’t have a specific answer for them. It’s a scary thing. However, we don’t have to know all of the answers about college today.

           Coming into my senior year, I thought it was going to be easy and simple. I was very much unaware how stressful college applications would be, and I know that I’m not the only one with saying that. Senior year can definitely be a wake up call for us. It is time for upperclassmen to step up and plan the next big step in each of our lives. It can definitely be a scary thing, but if you look around you, you have friends and family who will most likely support you wherever you choose to go off to school.

           For those of you seniors who are not planning on staying in the area to go to a college like Winthrop University, the time we have left here is shorter than you may think. Six months may feel, or even sound like a long time, but trust me, it isn’t. Before you know it, we will be saying goodbye to our high school friends after graduation and soon after, moving into dorm rooms.

           One thing is for sure, now is not the time for seniors to be slacking off. All throughout high school, all I was told was that senior year is the year to do nothing. That should never be the case. Scholarships and other various opportunities all depend on how serious you take your last year of high school education. Take me for example. I have been offered scholarships at Southern Mississippi that would completely waive the out-of-state tuition fee as well as a $9800 scholarship all based on my grades. They do not just stop following your successes or failures your junior year. At the end of my senior year, I will have to send USM a copy of my final transcript and they could easily take away my scholarships that I was offered.

           All I am saying is that senior year is not only a time to remember your last moments here at Fort Mill, but it’s also the last chance you have to impress your future school. The choices and decisions you make based on your education will have an impact on your future. I know I’m going to miss this place, as well as the friends I have made. However, I’m ready to take the next step in my life. Are you?

Leave a Reply

