fmhsloudspeaker

The final chapter

In Editorials on December 2, 2011 at 8:23 pm

By: Kristen Hegel

Do you ever have that warm, bitter-sweet moment with your friends where you’re all laughing, having a good time, and you think to yourself, “I hope this never changes”? For most of us at Fort Mill High School, we have a group of friends that we have grown close with throughout our time here. As we seniors are currently experiencing, we are attempting to spend every last second surrounded by the class we’ve grown up with before we all go our separate ways.

From day to day, things may not drastically change, but over time, we all begin to notice the differences. Photo courtesy of Kristen Hegel

Like many students, I’m ready to graduate, go to college and begin my adult life, but every now and then as I’m working on the college application process, it hits me. Never again will I rush into class to tell my favorite teacher some good news. Never again will I be with my classmates in the same circumstances. Never again will I be with my friends in the same way, laughing at our inside jokes.

Of course, wherever I end up, there will be new people, friends, experiences and memories, but after building a life here at Fort Mill High, the thought of starting over can be frightening. I believe the biggest fear is losing contact with friends, even acquaintances. Though we have barely talked through the years, I’ll be separated from the people I’ve interacted with on a daily basis, even since elementary school. We may not realize it, but these people have influenced us and helped us evolve into the people we have become.

I think as a student body we take things for granted, like that greeting from Dee Christopher, your hilarious Probability and Statistics teacher, my newspaper class, and all the other people we’re around that make each day brighter. From day to day, things may not drastically change, but over time, we all begin to notice the differences. Underclassmen, don’t wish your time at Fort Mill High away; enjoy it. Upperclassmen, enjoy your time while you still have some left, and cherish your friends while you’re all together.

Leave a Reply

