fmhsloudspeaker

Justin Timberlake’s humble night with the Marine Corps

In Entertainment on November 22, 2011 at 7:26 pm

By: Mariah Wilson

 

Just a tweet off Twitter made this possible for one corporal in the Marine Corps. Photo courtesy of Google images

November 12, 2011 is a night that Corporal Kelsey De Santis will never forget.  What could be so special as to warrant this kind of excitement? That would be the Marine Corps Birthday Ball, and De Santis will be taking Grammy Award winner, Justin Timberlake, as her date.  De Santis sent her request to Timberlake on July 12th of this year, asking if he would accompany her to the Ball.  “If you cannot come to the ball for some reason…cry me a river,” De Santis said.  The singer did not disappoint the Corporal, for the pair showed up together and turned the birthday ball into a red carpet event on Oscar night.

            At the ball, everyone was shown video tributes to the men and women killed in Pearl Harbor, World War II and 9/11.  The Social Network star later blogged about his emotional intake from the videos, saying, “I was truly moved.”  Through the whole event, he shook hands and took pictures with other service men and women.  “Timberlake was more than gracious when it came to shaking hands and taking pictures,” Kelsey De Santis later blogged.  “Any uneasiness immediately went away as I realized what humble, good people Justin and those surrounding him are,” De Santis stated on how quickly she felt at ease with Timberlake.

            Timberlake took notice on how nervous and worried the Corporal was, stating on his website, “she seemed like she was nervous about the whole evening and if I was going to enjoy myself. ‘Are you ok?’ she asked two or three times. ‘I hope you are having fun.”  He continued this statement by saying, “I have to tell you, it’s not every day that I meet a 23 year old girl and she’s more worried about if I’m having fun or if I’m comfortable!  It hit me all of a sudden that these were the types of people that look after us and our freedom…humble, concerned for others before themselves.” 

  De Santis also had some kind words for Timberlake, saying on her own blog, “I am so thankful to Justin Timberlake for accompanying me to the Ball and for his incredible post describing the events of the night.  The experience he had is more than I could have ever hoped for and I am truly humbled by the appreciation and respect that he has shown for the Marine Corps.”  After the Marine Corps Ball, she blogged, “There was never a dull moment!  And I have to say Justin fit right in.”

Before the night came to a close, Justin Timberlake was given a bayonet engraved with ‘Justin “come tussle” Timberlake’.  Kelsey De Santis joked on her blog, “Who knows, maybe J.T. will be enlisting next?!”  The last thing said by Timberlake was written toward Ms. De Santis herself.  “Last night changed my life and I will never forget it.  Thank you Corporal Kelsey De Santis.  Thank you for inviting me.  And, thank you for being my hero.”

 
Leave a Reply

