fmhsloudspeaker

Spirit Week mayhem

In Editorials on September 30, 2011 at 6:16 pm

By: Courtney Harrington

For you freshmen that have joined the Fort Mill family this year, I know for a fact that you fell in love with our Fort Mill Pep Rally. The energy and momentum that flows throughout the walls of the gym is outstanding. Photo courtesy of Kristen Hegel

            As all of us Fort Mill students know, this week was Homecoming Week at our school, otherwise known as Spirit Week. Every year, I know I get excited for good ole Spirit Week. During these past few days, students have participated in Pajama day,Americaday, Class day, Group day and Blue and Gold day, each day leading up to the big homecoming football game. Tonight, our football team will take on South Pointe in Bob Jones Stadium.

            I remember when I was a freshman here atFortMill, and I did not have a clue what to expect during Spirit Week 2008. I was truly amazed at the level of school spirit shown throughout the school that year. Every year since has been just as exhilarating and exciting. For those of you who just took part inFortMill’s Spirit Week for the first time, I know you took part in an unforgettable and competitive school week. However, make it your goal to amp up your school pride each and every year until it is your turn to strut across the big stage at graduation.

            Being a Senior has felt like such a privilege for a lot of students aroundFortMillthis past week. I, for one, have been pumped for my Senior Spirit Week. We all wait for that year when we can participate in 80’s exercise day and are the “big dogs” of the school, and that year has arrived for not only me, but a few hundred other students. I tend to be very disappointed in the lack of school spirit within my grade, but this year is a whole different story. I found it to be very interesting to see all of the neat ideas for costumes that students would come up with every day; ideas that I would never have thought of. The senior family, however, did have some serious competition this week with the junior class as we both fought for the first place title.  

            When I first caught word of this year’s Spirit Week, I immediately thought about the pep rally that is traditionally held the Friday of that week. For you freshmen that have joined theFortMillfamily this year, I know for a fact that you fell in love with our Fort Mill Pep Rally. The energy and momentum that flows throughout the walls of the gym is outstanding. The feeling I get when I step foot into the gymnasium is like no other feeling.FortMillis my home. For all of you underclassmen out there, promise me that next year and the years to follow, you will blow this school away with the amplitude of your school pride. Make me proud,FortMill.

Leave a Reply

