fmhsloudspeaker

The high school life

In Editorials on September 19, 2011 at 6:09 pm

By: Courtney Harrington

Its become very common for teenagers to "slack off" during high school. Teens begin to spend a majority of their time watching television, playing video games and sleeping rather than keeping up with school. Photo courtesy of Kristen Hegel

Being a high school student can be very stressful for many reasons. I can tell you that along with fitting in, I began to adapt to the “high school life” early on during my freshman year. What do I mean when I say the high school life? In other words, my outlook on life changed a bit. I began to eat junk food for pure pleasure and lost motivation to stay active and alert. Television soon became my best friend, sleeping was my second nature and snacking became my new hobby.

            For years, I have heard of the “Freshman 15.” What that refers to is a student’s first year of college. It is typical for students to gain a few pounds during their first year away from home. However, what about high school? Personally, I think eating and snacking plays a large role in high school as well. I snack when we are in between classes, when I get home, before dinner and even before I go to bed at night. Eating constantly is definitely not something I am proud of, and I know I’m not alone in saying that. This is my challenge to you: alter the way you snack. When I snack, it’s usually because I am bored and have nothing else to do with my time. When you feel the need to munch for no reason, focus your attention on something productive and positive. Go for a walk or start a new book, anything that will distract you from joy-grazing.

            Lounging around and watching television is another large part of a typical high school student’s life. I, for one, can say that I have certain times on certain days dedicated to my favorite television shows. At those moments, nothing is more important than what is on television, definitely not my school work. I do not think there is anything wrong with making time for our favorite television show. However, priorities should come first. When you get home from school, go ahead and knock your school work out of the way so you don’t have to stay up late at night rushing to do your homework, or not even doing it. Being responsible and following your priorities will definitely pay off throughout your four years in high school.

            Being a high school student is a whole different experience in itself, and it’s really easy to change the way you behave. Each and every student creates his/her own mold of who they want to be in high school. However, peer influence can severely affect who we become. During my freshman year, the people around me influenced me in ways that I didn’t know were possible. I would not be who I am today if it weren’t for Fort Mill High students. However, I take it as my responsibility to keep myself accountable for how I use my time. It’s really easy to become lazy in high school, but I strongly suggest that you figure out what is most important to you and not allow anything or anyone to interfere.

Leave a Reply

