fmhsloudspeaker

Feel free to let loose

In Editorials on October 8, 2010 at 6:05 pm

By: Lauren Harper

Don't be afraid to be who you want to be. Photo courtesy of Austin Hazen

As we all know, this week was Spirit Week at Fort Mill High School. Many students showed their school spirit by avidly participating in the week’s activities, like the lunch games, powder-puff football, and of course, the themed days. I’d say that the majority of Fort Mill students took part in the fun in some way by doing things like wearing their jammies on Monday and pulling their friends together on Group Day. This was great, and I’d say that this year’s Spirit Week was successful, but there are always those students that don’t want to take part in the fun. For most, they just don’t feel the need to dress up in ridiculous costumes, and this is something I understand because if you don’t want to, you don’t have to. But then there are some that simply don’t because they are scared or anxious to know what people might say or think about them if they do. In this area, I encourage these students to forget the haters and go with what they want to do.

Spirit Week is not the only time that people do this, but it is definitely one of the times that I see this problem the most. High school is notorious for being a time that teens are at one of their most self-conscious and precarious times, but that doesn’t mean that people shouldn’t let loose and be who they want to be. If you want to paint yourself green for out of this world day or dye your hair blue for Fort Mill Friday, then go for it. If you stop worrying about what everyone thinks of you for the day, then you’re guaranteed to be much happier than if you were concerned about it.

Now, some people may be better at letting go than others, and that’s okay. As long as you’re making an effort to make the change, that’s all that matters. Another thing that I think people need to realize is that people usually are not as concerned about what you’re doing as you think they are. If you show up to school wearing a onesie for pajama day, I promise that people will not judge you or even care as much as you think they will. So cut out all the worrying and let loose a bit. I myself used to be way too concerned with the thoughts of my friends and peers, but as each year progressed, I finally got to the point where I said “bump that” and I’ve decided to live to be the person that I want, and do the things that I want to do. There are times when I am a little more self-conscious than I should be, so at that point I try to remind myself that the girl from my Chemistry class and the guy I see walking to 2nd block each day probably don’t care about what I do half as much as I think they do.

High school is supposed to be one of the most exciting and fun times of your life; that is if you let it. If you can realize that it’s much more fun to be yourself and have fun with your teenage years than to worry about what everyone else is thinking, then you’re sure to enjoy this time much more. These four years go by fast, so don’t forget to let go and live it up while you still can.

Leave a Reply

