fmhsloudspeaker

Time management for teens

In Editorials on October 1, 2010 at 7:27 pm

By:Lauren Kirby

We shouldn't be stressed over having a job at a young age. Photo courtesy of Austin Hazen

   Wasn’t there once a saying about your teenage years being the best days of our lives? Well whoever came up with that line, I would sure love to meet. I’m a teenager and so far these years seem to be the most difficult. For some people making good grades in school may be easy, but for me it’s not always a piece of cake. For the longest time, I thought the work in high school was taking over my life and I hated it, just like every other kid, but of course we have our teachers and parents telling us how it will be worth it in the end, so we keep trying.

            Finally, I got a job my junior year and then I realized what taking over your life really meant. Don’t get me wrong, I knew that was important too and I loved making my own money, but then I noticed how difficult it was getting home late on school nights. It felt good leaving work every night and knowing I had worked hard but by the time I got home, my school work didn’t seem very important. So then my daily routine was going to school and to work then straight to sleep when I got home. That routine became a pattern and the slacking on my studies was definitely showing. This year is my senior year, and along with many other students I’m sure, work still takes over my life.

            I’ve certainly learned a lot about time management, but I want to be able to do other things besides make good grades in school. I think it’s a good thing for all of us to have jobs and learn more about responsibility, but when you’re spending everyday busting your butt, it isn’t worth it. If you’re working somewhere that you dread going into everyday or a place that just gives you something else to stress over then I would get out while you still can. For those students who can keep up their grades and still enjoy having a part time job, good for you and all the power to you.   But for those of you who have to worry about things like failing a math quiz because you didn’t get home till 11 the night before or skipping dance class because you’re so worn out from your job then you’re a lot like me. It’s taken me a long time to realize it, but I know now that you don’t always have to do everything. Life isn’t about rushing from one place to another and always just making the dead lines. I think doing well in high school is enough stress for every student and everything else can wait. We have our whole lives ahead of us and plenty of time to work. We’re all just kids so let’s enjoy it while we still can.

  1. If You look for the good in everything: friend,relationship,job,school,teacher,parents,etc it will always out shine the bad. Positive thoughts create positive results.Your commitment to spirtual and physical fitness will reduce any stress.The Power of Prayer will help you overcome.

Leave a Reply

